Tied to the mast
…but orange now and black

9/11 conspiracists circle Ground Zero

I’m in New York now and I needed to buy shoes today. My uncle’s boyfriend—who I’d had lunch with—recommended I check out the department store “Century 21” down by the WTC site in lower Manhattan (a very good recommendation, incidentally). Anyway, I decided to walk down from 17th and found my way to the WTC site itself. It was packed with 9/11 conspiracists and, understandably, emotionally vulnerable people… How exciting for the fear mongers!

This isnt the guy I mention... just some weirdo turned up by a Google image search.

This isn't the guy I mention... just some weirdo turned up by a Google image search.

I sat down on a bench to double check the address to the store and next to me was a middle aged black woman with wide and damp eyes being preeched to by a 20 something white dude from Ohio talking about how he’s trying to take himself off of the grid, and stuff about secret underground chambers beneath the site and Dick Cheney.

She was getting progressively more upset, I couldn’t help but notice, but she thanked him when he finished his spiel. After he left she turned to me, looking off into space, and said wanly, “Everything’s changed since 9/11.”

I nodded.

“Everyone’s losing their jobs… All the other countries hate us.”

I shook my head and said, “I’m Canadian, and I don’t hate you. I like Obama… I mean I’ve got my issues with him, but I like him. I think most of the world just really hated Bush and Cheney… those two never saw a foreign eye without spitting in it.”

Her: “They’re saying that Obama’s just more of the same.”

Me: “There’s a lot of inertia…”

Her: “But you think things are gonna change?”

Me: “In baby steps… I’m hopeful.”

Her: “But how can it when the economy keeps falling?”

Me: “I’ve been reading in the last few weeks that things have been turning around.”

Her: “That people are going to be getting their jobs back?”

Me: “Not yet. Jobs are a lagging indicator… jobs come back a few months after the economy starts to turn around. What they’re saying though is that things are probably not going to get much worse.”

Her: “So people might be back to work around Christmas.”

Me: “I dunno… but life’ll go on.”

Anyway… that was our exchange. She said she felt better, but I walked away pretty pissed at the predatory tactics of these conspiracists. I don’t mind if they spout their nonsense on the Internet, but the 9/11 memorial pavilion isn’t fair ground. I thought about engaging them directly, and kindof regret not doing it. Maybe I will next time. Maybe you should too.

~

Maddox soberly assesses a 9/11 conspiracy YouTube video:

I’ve been getting a lot of email lately from people sending me this stupid 9/11 conspiracy video called “Loose Change.” I’ve tried to ignore it for months now, but you morons keep forwarding it to me, and I keep having to add more email addresses to my spam filter. The ironic part is that I’m a huge conspiracy nut, and even I can’t stomach this bullshit. For example, I believe that there is a small, reptile-like creature called Chupacabra that sucks the blood of goats in Mexico. Area 51? Hell yes. Roswell? Pass me the Kool-Aid. But “Loose Change” elevates bullshit to an artform. Watching this video is like being bukakked with stupid.

Bukakked with stupid.

No Responses to “9/11 conspiracists circle Ground Zero”

Leave a Reply

