Tied to the mast
…but orange now and black

Ed Whelan / Publius Spat, Ctd.: The Apology

From Ed Whelan yesterday night:

On reflection, I now realize that, completely apart from any debate over our respective rights and completely apart from our competing views on the merits of pseudonymous blogging, I have been uncharitable in my conduct towards the blogger who has used the pseudonym Publius. Earlier this evening, I sent him an e-mail setting forth my apology for my uncharitable conduct. As I stated in that e-mail, I realize that, unfortunately, it is impossible for me to undo my ill-considered disclosure of his identity.  For that reason, I recognize that Publius may understandably regard my apology as inadequate.

I’m actually impressed. That’s a far more honest and genuinely repentant sounding apology than I have come to expect from fringe pundits when they’re called out on ethics…

Maybe he was being honest when he said initially that he couldn’t think of any other reason for someone to write pseudonymously than to free themselves from accountability for talking shit. That show a pretty gross failure or imagination on his part. It did seem, though, like he was in the throws of passion (recall the “You idiot and coward!” e-mail).

For the backstory


No Responses to “Ed Whelan / Publius Spat, Ctd.: The Apology”

Leave a Reply

